Guys its Fall!!

Fall is actually my favorite season. Everything is so pretty, with the leaves changing colors and crisp leather jackets. The colors are just better in the fall. Orange is now called “pumpkin” things are “chestnut brown” and Burgundy. Also, the clothes are fun. I can finally break out all of my big Bill Cosby, Biggie, and 90s style sweaters. I can wear scarves, knit caps and boots! I even feel more collegiate in the fall. Whenever I picture college the season is either fall or spring. Studying for test in my big Cosby Sweater and  my chestnut brown boots just says college to me. Fall makes me want to cuddle up with a book and warm apple cider and maybe a slice of pie.  There’s a nice romantic warm feeling to fall before I start my love hate relationship with winter.

Me during Fall

tumblr_mfndh8s3Hy1s0fmm3o1_500

Me during Winter

tumblr_myyjfjQxbA1shydt6o1_500

Even the activities in fall are cool, like in summer you can go to the beach, travel and swim. But in the fall you can go apple picking, carve pumpkins and take a lazy day trips to corn mazes! My friends and I recently went a conference in Lancaster r which is such a beautiful area during the fall if you feel like taking the trip to check out their corn mazes and hay rides. But even if you don’t really want to leave the city there’s a bunch of stuff you can do in the area to take in all of falls pretty sights.

You can head right to center city and hang out by the art museum and the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. It really pretty if you want to walk around and do some shopping. There also a lot of parks like Wissahickon Gorge, Franklin square and Schuylkill River Trail. Or if your brave you can go to Eastern State Penitentiary for Terror Behind the Walls.

I went to eastern state for the first time my freshman year. I thought my cousins and friends were over exaggerating saying it scary. I thought they were acting like babies. Then I went. I almost cried. In my defense it was my first haunted house. I have discovered that while scary movies don’t freak me out Haunted Houses do. Don’t worry at Terror Behind the Walls they don’t grab you (unless you sign up for that). But they do everything else. There are 6 or 8 different attractions that you can go through but I was in there for about an hour. The guards are creepy people are lurking in corners, people pop out at you and sneak up behind you. If your willing to spend the money and wait in line to go I would definitely say do it.

There’s also a lot of things happening on Campus during the fall. Organizations are selling Apple cider, there are a lot more events and programs. From movies and mini fall festivals. The programs are more geared to fall events, like there is a pumpkin decorating contest and one of my clubs the Progressive NAACP is working with Alpha Sigma Rho to do a program called “Cultures are not Costumes” to talk about cultural appropriation and non offensive ways to dress for Halloween.

But that is all for me right now, I’m off to make Caramel and candied apples with my friends!

Leave a Reply

